home page

|- Raj Bhavan News
|- Speeches of Governors
|- Advertisements for
Vice Chancellors
   Rajbhavan    Governors    Bhopal    Miscellany
Raj Bhavan MP : Governor as Chancellor

Role of the Governor as Chancellor of Universities of Madhya Pradesh

The Governor of Madhya Pradesh is the Chancellor of following 12 Universities established and regulated by the Acts shown against them :-

S. No. Name of University Name of the relevant Act
1. Awadhesh Pratap Singh University, Rewa Madhya Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973
2. Barkatullah University, Bhopal Madhya Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973
3. Devi Ahilya University, Indore Madhya Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973
4. Jiwaji University, Gwalior Madhya Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973
5. Rani Durgavati University, Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973
6. Vikram University, Ujjain Madhya Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973
7. Jawaharlal Nehru Agriculture University, Jabalpur Jawaharlal Nehru Agriculture Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1963
8. Madhya Pradesh Bhoj (Open) University, Bhopal Madhya Pradesh Bhoj (Open) Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1991
9. Mahatma Gandhi Chitrakoot Gramodaya University, Chitrakoot Mahatma Gandhi Chitrakoot Gramodaya Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1991
10. Rajiv Gandhi Proudyougiki University, Bhopal Rajiv Gandhi Proudyougiki Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1998
11. Maharishi Panini Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Ujjain
12. Gwalior Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Gwalior

By virtue of his office the Chancellor is the Head of the Universities and the President of the Court and when present he shall preside over the meeting of the court and at any Convocation of the University. The Chancellor has been conferred with the following powers under the provisions various sections of the relevant Acts :-
  • To call for any papers or information relating to the affairs of the University and refer any matter for reconsideration or annul any proceedings of any officer, authority, committee or body of the University which is not in conformity with the Act, Statutes, Ordinances or Regulations ;
  • Cause and inspection of the University and affiliated Colleges and order an enquiry to be made in respect of any matter connected with the Administration or Finances of the University, Colleges or Institutions ;
  • Appointment of the Vice-Chancellor and removal in case of default or incapability in management of the University affairs ;
  • Nomination of members in the University Court, Executive Council, Board of Management, Academic Evaluation and Planning Board etc. ;
  • Appointment of Deans of Faculties ;
  • Constitution of Finance Committees ;
  • Nomination of Subject experts in Selection Committees for selection on Teaching posts ;
  • Consider Appeals / Representations / Complaints against the decisions of the Vice-Chancellor or other Authorities of the Universities ;
  • Preside over the meetings of the Co-ordination Committee ;
  • Appointment of Vice Chancellor in consultation with the State Government in the event of issuance of Notification by the State Government under section 52 of the Act ;
  • Consider and decide Appeals of Teachers, Officers and Employees of the Universities ;
  • Nominate Chairman and Members on the Central Board of Studies and approve its recommendations ;

::: Best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution :::
::: Site Designed and Developed by Sanjeev Sharma :::
::: Contact Us :- webmaster rajbhavan mp :::